Skip to content

Scenechronize: Plan Your Film in a Cloud

September 2, 2011

We’ve been using Celtx Studio as an experiment on our recent short film. I’ve been working on a comprehensive review of what I’ve learned about the pros and cons of that open source pre-production software.

It has been helpful, but part of the challenge is getting your team to adopt a new workflow. Celtx has been good for me in my multiple roles (Writer, Director, UPM,…) but people on my team (all volunteers, mostly young filmmakers) don’t have the experience with pre-production software and so have tended to revert to Excel and Word to keep track of things. Oh well.

Here’s another option – not free but pretty reasonably priced – for indie productions. I have not yet used it but it looks like it answers some of the weaknesses I have found in Celtx versus a ‘real’ package like MovieMagic. You still have to write your screenplay in some other program, but I have Celtx if I want and I also own FinalDraft, so no worries there.

Check out this link from “The Working Director”: Scenechronize: Plan Your Film in a Cloud : The Working Director : From Dreams To Deals.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

